Blog Latest News

Chairpersons of District council committees sworn in

Kasese District Local Government Chairpersons of standing committees of council were sworn in yesterday 10th January 2023  at the district headquarters.

The new chairpersons include ; Hon. Masereka Benard  , the Chairperson for works and Technical services committee, Hon. Kisole Yonasani – Chairperson Social services committee, Hon. Ategeka Lakisisi Adolph- Chairperson Production, Marketing and Natural resources , Hon. Kule Wilson- Chairperson Finance , planning and Administration.

These were voted in council meeting which sat in December 2023 after the outgoing team had served their term of office which is 2 years and a half as mandated by the law.

At the swearing Ceremony , the new chairpersons who were accompanied by their family members and relatives pledged their commitment to work with management and other political leaders to deliver their mandate as chairpersons of standing committees.

The Chief Administrative Officer, Mr. Byamungu Elias argued the incoming chairpersons of the standing committees of council to ensure continuous consultation of the outgoing chairpersons and the technical staff for technical guidance .

Mr. Byamungu pledged to continue facilitating the committee to ensure that they effectively deliver services to the people of Kasese.

The District speaker Hon. Mayora Johnson asked the incoming chairpersons to cooperate with heads of Departments for effective service delivery. Hon. Mayora condemned the bad practice of political leaders fighting technical people which affects performance .

Hon. Kisole Yonasani requested for collaboration between members of DEC and Chairpersons of standing committees through having joint meetings that will enable them plan in a coordinated manner.

The chairpersons are the heads of the standing committees of council and their core mandate is to ensure effective planning and utilization of government funds .

Congratulations .

The End.